EDUCATION AND THE ARTS

sities, Victoria and Simon Fraser, in British Columbia and a number of small colleges, most of them church-related.

Yukon Territory. The Yukon Territory school system is administered by the Yukon Department of Education and operated through a superintendent and staff at Whitehorse, appointed by the territorial government and responsible to the Commissioner of the Territory. Schools in the Yukon Territory have always been publicly controlled, except for the federal Indian Residential School at Carcross which closed before the 1969-70 school year.

Northwest Territories. The Northwest Territories school system, consisting of the districts of Mackenzie, Franklin and Keewatin, is operated by the Department of Education of the territorial government. The official transfer of responsibility for education from the federal Department of Indian Affairs and Northern Development to the territorial Department of Education occurred in April 1969 in the Mackenzie District and April 1970 in the Franklin and Keewatin Districts; 58 schools came under the control of the territorial Department, in addition to several schools already under its control.

The territorial Department of Education is continuing the work done in the past by the Department of Indian Affairs and Northern Development, and is providing educational opportunities for northern residents equivalent to those enjoyed by citizens in southern Canada. New schools have been constructed at Edzo, Frobisher Bay, Baker Lake, Cape Dorset, Coral Harbour and Clyde River and an education curriculum has been developed relevant to the cultural heritage of Eskimo, Indian and Métis students, who make up the majority of pupils in the schools. The Department, with the assistance of the Department of Indian Affairs and Northern Development, is initiating the collection of stories and legends of the Dogrib people and a Dogrib grammar and a dictionary are being produced.

7.1.4 Education of Indians and Inuit

Indians. The number of Indian students enrolled in pre-vocational courses during 1972-73 increased to 4,503 from 3,962 in 1971-72. During the same period there were similar increases in university enrolments, from 559 to 911, and in teacher training from 63 to 104. Professional training enrolments increased from 562 to 1,368. Indian history, traditions and languages are now included in the curriculum, and native culture is stressed through language, visual aids, tapes and printed matter as well as Indian dances and arts.

In January 1973, 71,319 Indian children were enrolled in pre-school, elementary or secondary school classes in federal or provincial schools. The pre-school program for four- and five-year-olds received special emphasis. There was a 2.1% increase in pre-school enrolment, and a 4% increase in secondary school enrolment. Federal financial assistance for Indian students attending non-federal schools varies from payment of tuition fees and provision of school buses, many of them operated by band councils or Indian contractors, to full maintenance either in boarding homes or student residences, which during the year accommodated 11,000 Indian students unable to attend local schools because of isolation or other reasons.

Federal schools for Indian students are in operation in all provinces except Newfoundland. During 1972-73, 22 major capital projects were under construction or had been completed, providing the federal school system with a total of 112 new classrooms, seven gymnasiums and 42 staff units. The total cost of the federal schools construction program was in excess of \$11 million. A further \$5 million was spent for classroom space in provincial schools attended by Indian students.

Inuit (Eskimos). Great emphasis is given to education and vocational training as the means to help the Inuit adjust to a changing way of life. In 1972-73, 4,600 Inuit pupils were enrolled in school in the Northwest Territories compared with only 451 out of a total of 2,000 pupils in 1955. There are 69 settlements in the Northwest Territories, 32 of which are Eskimo settlements; of the 58 schools, 30 are in Inuit settlements. Kindergarten classes are provided in 35 of these schools, 22 of them in Inuit settlements.

Throughout the Northwest Territories education is a responsibility shared by the federal and territorial governments and administered by the Department of Education of the Northwest Territories. In April 1969 the territorial government assumed responsibility for the administration of education in the Mackenzie District, and a year later took over the same responsibility for the eastern Arctic district. The responsibility for education of the Eskimos in Arctic Quebec remains with the Department of Indian Affairs and Northern Development.